Inspiration

Where do you find it?

Honestly, I’m not trying to sound deep here. I’m actually stumped.

If you ask me to come up with a color combo, that I can do in a heartbeat! I love finding neat color combinations through nature, or inspired by cool things on TV…I basically have a whole folder on my phone saved of color plans for various blankets.

But how do you come up with what to actually MAKE?!

Every single idea I come up with is something that someone else already did. I just started a really neat scarf pattern with bobble textures and strips that you tie in the middle so they look like little bows…and all I can think of is “I should make my own pattern like this”. Yeah, that’s not how it works. You don’t just copy someone’s concept and change it a little bit.

So how do you come up with original ideas? Do you take an existing idea and try to mix it up, like those hats that look like ice cream or cake or whatever? Do you look at stuff like a tree and try to emulate that texture/appearance in a garment?

I can’t think of how to actually stimulate my creativity. Please share any tips and ideas you have! I’d really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

