My largest undertaking yet.

I haven’t been on lately because I have such an exciting life! Just kidding, I’ve been working 45 hours a week. That leaves very little time to even touch yarn, let alone blog about it.

But I finished a few large projects recently (for myself…), so it’s time to start something new. And a couple of weeks ago, I saw a customer at work who was wearing this GORGEOUS long fringed black vest. It was an open stitch that looked so squishy and soft (I felt like it wouldn’t be appropriate to ask to touch it) and went down to about her knees. Then there was this fringe on the bottom and it was just so pretty.

I saw it and immediately was like “I have to make one”. I scoured the internet (well, Ravelry) and didn’t find anything¬†quite right. One pattern came close but it wasn’t really the look I wanted.

So I decided it was time to truly challenge myself. I’ve been too scared to design anything but scarves, because they’re very much one-size-fits-all and easy to customize from there. But I’ve wanted to take on something a bit larger and more intricate, and this vest idea seems like the perfect opportunity.

I was thinking black like the one I saw on the customer, but that didn’t sound right. I considered charcoal gray, but it didn’t seem like that would go with many outfits.

So I was at Joann Fabrics last week (my newest obsession, plus it’s next to a brand new World Market…I’m in heaven) and just browsing around looking for inspiration as far as my yarn choice.

Then I saw the Lion Brand section. It was all on sale! That had to be a sign. And I remembered how much I love Heartland. It’s soft, drapes nicely, and has just a little bit of a sheen…perfect for a garment!

Then I spotted the perfect color, that I hadn’t even considered.

A deep, beautiful blue. Also known as their colorway “Lake Clark”. To demonstrate why this was the perfect choice, let me just show you my gauge swatch:

20170207_095556.jpg

I still just love staring at it. It’s a deeper color like I was looking for, but it’s far from boring.

Plus, as a pale-skinned brunette, blue is one of my best colors. Just saying.

So the gauge swatch turned out wonderfully, and I got started this morning on the actual product…

20170207_113803.jpg

Yum. It’s turning out even a tiny bit bigger than my gauge suggests, but I think that’s a math issue. Something drapey like a vest should actually have a few inches of wiggle room anyway, so I’m not worried.

I hope to be able to release a pattern within the next few weeks! I’ll probably be looking for testers, too, because this is a more complicated pattern than I’ve ever tried. Wish me luck!!! I’m going to get back to work now.

Leave a Reply

